18 June Massive Traffic Spike

18 June Massive Traffic Spike

Postby dmac » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:56 am

The site's had over 150,000 hits in the past 16 hours... a huge spike. Most recent activity is in Europe (mainly UK & Australia), but that's because of the hour of day (I'm up really early). Does anyone have a damned clue why there's such a spike? It doesn't look like the People episode has aired recently in the US, so I have no clue at the moment.
"Back off, man. I'm a scientist."
reach me at
keddie28 AT gmail DOT com
dmac
Site Admin

Re: 18 June Massive Traffic Spike

Postby budrfligh » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:32 pm

I have had zero notifications and I've flagged it too tell me.
budrfligh

Postby dmac » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:52 pm

A new YouTube recap of the case is the source. Bela Fiori's channel has over one million subscribers, and her error-filled, 15 minute vid pretty well cites Justin's 'blanket' version of the murders as the truth:

D&J walked in on the murders, Tina came out with the blanket, Tina was the target (attacked last, left unguarded, yet she was the target?!), blah blah blah.

Some odd claims pop up: Dana was a girl, Marty's hammer was recently found in the trash can by the Gen Store, Gamberg re-opened the case in 2010, scant mention of killer Loon, etc.

Still, I can't complain about over 300,000 hits in less than 36 hours. She links the vid directly to the timelines, which is where the majority of traffic enters the site.
reach me at
dmac
Site Admin

Postby dmac » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:06 pm

I was just looking at total numbers for this site, looking for trends and hotspots. What strikes me is the constant increase in visitors and hits.

My version of Josh's site (the one I did with minimalist design, to replace the gorehound flash site he had prior) was online for four years, with a constant flat-line of visitors that got a total of under 2,000,000 hits in the 4 years I maintained it.